MINOT, N.D. – The Northwest International Festival of Music looked quite a bit different this year.

Emerson Eads, director of Choral Activities at Minot State University, said band was done in person, but the choir was forced to make three virtual choirs: Nova (young singers), Cantabile (treble choir), Honor Choir, (advanced singers, and 4-5-year reward singers or singers who have been returning to Honor Choir four to five years in a row. Nearly 300 students participated in the virtual choir project.

“Huge kudos to the high school instructors who bore the weight of this during such unbelievably challenging times,” Eads said.

The virtual choir video projects can be viewed at: https://www.minotstateu.edu/nwmusic/choirs.shtml. The performances include the Nova Choir singing “Londonderry Air (“Danny Boy“) with conductor Matt Goettle and piano, Briana Schwan; the Cantabile Choir singing “Shenandoah,” arranged and conducted by Eads, with piano, Schwan; and the Honor Choir singing “How Lovely Is Thy Dwelling Place” conducted by Eads, with organ, Daniel Schwandt.

Some students would have made their fourth or fifth year in the festival but were unable because of COVID-19 quarantine-related issues.

Four and five-year festival awards were presented to the following students:

Annabelle Barcomb, Minot Magic City: 5-year award

Molly Kostek, Minot Magic City: 4-year award

Maleeka Kramlich, Jamestown: 5-year award

Christina Larsen, Surrey: 4-year award

Kamryn Morrison, South Prairie: 5-year award

Sarah Mueller, Barnes County North: 4-year award

Tristen Crist, North Star: 4-year award

Camden Gifford, Minot Magic City: 4-year award

Zachary Kirby, Culbertson, Mont.: 4-year award

Nate Krantz, Bismarck Century: 5-year award

Elizabeth Dean, South Heart: 4-year award

Lillian Effertz, Velva: 4-year award

Lila Farden, Glenburn: 5-year award

Amanda Goldade, Glenburn: 5-year award

Katie Humble, Minot Magic City: 4-year award

Jersey Johnson, Minot Magic City: 4-year award

Kori Nagel, Center-Stanton: 5-year award

Jasmine Rogers, Bottineau: 4-year award

Ciarra Saylor, Jamestown: 4-year award

Tanner Earsley, Wilton: 4-year award

Blake Bernhardt, Wing: 4-year award

Josiah Halton, Minot Magic City: 4-year award

Bo Salander, Larimore: 4-year award