Bismarck, N.D. –  According to the state officials, these agreements will make them eligible sponsors under the North Dakota Department of Water Resources’ Cost-Share Program.

The Cost-Share Program provides state funding for water development projects, including water supplies, flood protection and other general water management efforts.

Before the unanimous passage of HB 1385, North Dakota Century Code only allowed the State Water Commission to enter into cost-share agreements with North Dakota political subdivisions, the federal government, other state political subdivisions and Canadian provinces.

Tribal nations were not identified as an eligible partner for funding assistance.

The bill was introduced by Rep. Jon Nelson and co-sponsored by Reps. Jayme Davis, Clayton Fegley, Lisa Finley-DeVille and Dennis Johnson and Sens. Michael Dwyer, Jordan Kannianen, Donald Schaible and Ronald Sorvaag.